Top Menu

Ohio Gun Laws

Ohio Gun Laws

  Open Carry: Unrestricted under state law.
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Yes, immediately upon official contact.
  State Parks: Concealed handgun carry by recognized permittees in outdoor areas is allowed
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: No specific restriction.
  Firearms at Colleges: Forbidden, unless specifically permitted
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: As a licensee, you may have a concealed handgun in a school safety zone if you leave the handgun in the motor vehicle, the handgun does not leave the vehicle and, if you leave the vehicle, you lock the vehicle
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions
  Suppressor Ownership: No state restrictions
  Vehicle Possession by Non-Permitees: Vehicle transport is limited to a weapon that is unloaded and in plain view with its actions open. The unloaded firearm may also be secured in a closed commercial gun case, gun rack, or trunk.
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Firearm laws uniform throughout state
  Permit Training Requirements: The total time required for training is 8 hours with a minimum of 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training
  Permit Issuing Authority: You must apply to the sheriff in the county where you reside or an adjoining county
  May/Shall Issue: Shall issue to residents and those employed in Ohio
  State Website: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Law-Enforcement/Concealed-Carry
  Length of Permit Validity: 5 Years
  Permit Application Process: The sheriff must provide you with the internet link to obtain a printable application form and you should print, and read, the Attorney General pamphlet on Concealed Carry. You must pay a fee, which will vary depending on the background check the sheriff must conduct. The minimum fee for a background check and license is $67. You must provide evidence of your training certification and certify that you have read the Attorney General's publication. Applicants also must submit their fingerprints, which are necessary to conduct the background check.
  Non-Resident Permits: Non-resident permits issues only to those who work in Ohio
  Places Off Limits: The law sets forth several places where your license does not allow you to carry a handgun. Under the law, you may not carry a concealed handgun into the following places: • Police stations • Sheriffs’ offices • Highway Patrol posts • Premises controlled by BCI 11 • Correctional institutions or other detention facilities • Airport terminals or airplanes beyond screening checkpoint or other restricted areas • Facilities for the care of mentally ill persons • Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located • Universities, unless specifically permitted • Places of worship, unless the place of worship permits otherwise • Licensed Class D liquor permit premises, if you are consuming beer or intoxicating liquor or are under the influence. If you are not consuming, and not under the influence, you may carry unless there is a conspicuous sign prohibiting carry. Possession of a concealed firearm is allowed in a retail store with a D-6 or D-8 permit as long as the concealed carry license holder is not consuming liquor. Class D permits are generally issued to an establishment that sells alcohol for consumption on the premises. In any event, do not consume beer or intoxicating liquor before carrying a concealed handgun into a licensed premises or while on the premises. • Government facilities that are not used primarily as a shelter, restroom, parking facility for motor vehicles, or rest facility and are not a courthouse or a building or structure in which a courtroom is located. Specific government entities may allow you to carry by statute, ordinance, or policy. Consult the government entity before carrying into the building. • School safety zones A “school safety zone” includes a school, school building, school premises, school activity, and school bus. For purposes of this statute, a school includes everything up to the property boundary. As a licensee, you may have a concealed handgun in a school safety zone if you leave the handgun in the motor vehicle, the handgun does not leave the vehicle and, if you leave the vehicle, you lock the vehicle. Statutory Reference: ORC 2923.12, 2923.121, 2923.122, 2923.126
  Resident Permit Reciprocity:
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

 

Places off limits / Restrictions:

  • 2923.126 Prohibited Places
  • 2923.126(C) Allows private employers to prohibit the presense of firearms on property or in motor vehicles owned by the employer
  • 2923.16 Right to possess or store a firearm in your car
  • 2923.16 Transporting firearms in motor vehicles
  • 2923.126 (C)(3) No Gun Signs

Deadly Force / Justifiable Force

  • 2305.40 Immunity of Owner, lessee or renter of property in defense of others
  • 2307.60 Civil action for damages for criminal act
  • 2307.601 No duty to retreat
  • 2901.05 Burden of proof – reasonable doubt – self-defense
  • 2901.09 No duty to retreat in residence or vehicle

Dealing With Law Enforcement

  • 2923.126 Display of license to Law Enforcement

Other:

  • 2923.16 Definition of Unloaded